Another day, another stan!

I’m now in Dushanbe, Tajikistan, where they have petrol stations, ATMs, and I can fit enough of the local currency to buy lunch with into my wallet (at the sensible sounding exchange rate of a mere 9.6 somonis to the £). However my good intentions to get up to date here (in case either of my loyal readers are eagerly awaiting a post!) remain aspirational I’m afraid. The internet here is too slow to upload any photos and tomorrow morning I’m setting  off on the Pamir highway so I don’t expect to be able to do much updating from there…Tajikistan is hardly a paradise of liberal democracy (& facebook is blocked..) but still it’s a relief to be out of the repressive atmosphere of Uzbekistan, and on the way to see some big mountains 🙂

2 thoughts on “Another day, another stan!

  1. “That’s another fine mess you’ve gotten me into Stan(ley)….” 🙂 (L & H)

    Considering that the internet seems to run by candle-power in some of these places, you aren’t doing too bad in the updating stakes.

    Big mountains, and not too many vowels in the placenames? Sounds like Wales … 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

